Completing a Doctorate (PromVO 2019)

For questions related to completing doctoral studies, please write to abschluss@phil.uzh.ch

Information on completing a doctorate under PVO 2009
Information on completing a doctorate under PO 2006

Compulsory Matriculation and Enrollment

Compulsory Matriculation

If you’re completing a doctorate at the University of Zurich, you must be enrolled during your entire doctoral studies. This compulsory matriculation requirement applies throughout, up to and including the semester in which your PhD thesis is published. Once you have received your provisional final records you can apply for a leave of absence for the duration of the publication phase (student portal). However, in the semester of publication you must seek regular matriculation again.
The legal bases of compulsory matriculation are the Ordinance on Admission to Studies at the University of Zurich (Verordnung über die Zulassung zum Studium an der Universität Zürich [VZS]) and the Regulations Governing Matriculation Procedures and Semester Enrollment (RüMIS).  If you cannot show that you have been matriculated at UZH throughout, please write to graduiertenschule@phil.uzh.ch at least four weeks before you apply to defend your PhD.

Registration

When it comes to completing your doctoral studies please also note that you must be enrolled in the right degree program (doctorate under PromVO 2019) and the right PhD subject. If you don’t know which regulations apply to you, you can find out on the  student portal.

Application to Establish the Doctoral Committee and Initiate the Procedure for Obtaining a Doctoral Degree

As soon as your thesis is ready to defend, you and your principal supervisor draw up the application to establish your doctoral committee and to initiate the procedure for obtaining a doctoral degree via  Online PhD Admin Services. All members of your supervisory committee must agree to this application.

As an integral part of this application you fill in a final version of your doctoral agreement. All completed curricular coursework to be credited to your degree must be listed within this version. No more than 12 ECTS credits’ worth of curricular coursework may be credited to your degree. Any curricular coursework over and above these 12 ECTS credits will be listed in your final records.

The application must be made within the following periods: 

  • Fall Semester: Application until 30 November (PhD defense by 31 January)
  • Spring Semester: Application until 31 May (PhD defense by 31 July)

Proposed date for the PhD defense

The application must contain a proposed date for the PhD defense. Please note that the defense may not take place before two months after the application has been made, as the Graduate School must obtain the expert reports on the thesis and the revision requirements before the PhD defense. The members of the doctoral committee must as a rule submit their expert reports within four months of submission of the application. In order to be able to meet the proposed date for the PhD defense, all expert reports must be uploaded at least to weeks before this date via Online PhD Admin Services.
In Fall Semester a PhD defense may take place from 1 August to 31 January, and in Spring Semester from 1 February to 31 July. For this reason, please note the deadlines for application for the establishment of a doctoral committee (see above).

Submitted thesis and plagiarism check

The application must include the submitted thesis. For the publication of PhD theses on ZORA a standardized plagiarism assessment by the principal supervisor is required. UZH uses the plagiarism assessment software «Plagscan». The software examines whether there are text similarities with online sources or licensed specialized literature. Please note, the software is only a tool for the assessment. The final decision if there is any plagiarism in the PhD thesis or not has to be taken by the user, i.e. the principal supervisor.

Upon receipt of the publication application the Office of Student Affairs informs the principal supervisor via email about the required plagiarism assessment.

Guide for principal supervisors

  1. Open «Plagscan» (Link top right on the website)
  2. Login via Shibboleth Login (Access: UZH shortname and password)
  3. Upload the PhD thesis and start the plagiarism scan. You can leave all settings for the assessment unchanged (default setting). Depending on the size of the document the assessment takes a few minutes to one day. The assessment will be executed on the server even if you go offline.
  4. View the results of the plagiarism scan. «Plagscan» marks potential plagiarism directly in your document and also in the sources. By clicking on the marked points, you get the references of other sources. The so-called «PlagLevel» indicates the percentage of potential plagiarism within your document. The «PlagLevel» as well as the markings in the text are supposed to support your own analysis. UZH does not specify a certain threshold value above which a PhD thesis is clearly plagiarism.
  5. Download the plagiarism scan (pdf of the analyzed PhD thesis) and keep it in a safe place.
  6. Delete the PhD thesis with the plagiarism scan in «Plagscan» and log out.
  7. Please confirm the plagiarsim check at the end of the application to establish the doctoral committee (checkbox) via Online PhD Admin Services.

Composition of the doctoral committee

How to find your doctoral committee
How to find your doctoral committee
How to find your doctoral committee (German only)

 

The doctoral committee is responsible for executing the procedure for obtaining a doctoral degree, in other words for reviewing and evaluating your thesis and conducting and evaluating the PhD defense.

The doctoral committee consists of: 

  • 2 to 5 members acting as reviewers and examiners
  • one additional member to chair the committee (who does not act as a reviewer and examiner)
  • Guest professors, instructors from universities of applied sciences or teacher education, and co-authors may not sit on a doctoral committee.

Organizing the PhD Defense, Expert Report and Revision Requirements

The Graduate School checks the composition of the doctoral committee and if the necessary course work is completed. If everything is correct, the procedure for obtaining a doctoral degree is initiated. 

Expert Reports

All expert reports are gathered before the PhD defense. The members of the doctoral committee must as a rule submit their expert reports within four months via Online PhD Admin Services. In order to be able to meet your proposed date for the PhD defense, all expert reports must be uploaded at least to weeks before this date.

PDF templates will be provided for the expert reports. Each member of the doctoral committee (apart from the chair) writes an independent expert report referring exclusively to the thesis submitted, grading it from 1 to 6 (1 = lowest, 6 = highest; half grades are possible). These grades may differ.
If the thesis is graded at least 4 by all reviewers, it is deemed to be accepted, and the procedure for obtaining a doctoral degree can be continued.
If one of the reviewers gives the thesis a failing grade, it is deemed not to be accepted and can be revised (improved) once.  After that the thesis must be reviewed again by all members of the doctoral committee.

Revision requirements for publication

Together with the submission of the expert reports, any revision requirements imposed for publication must be stated via Online PhD Admin Services. After the PhD defense the candidate will be sent the revision requirements along with the provisional final records. 

Please note: If the PhD thesis is graded at least 4, it is accepted, and revision requirements should only be given to a very limited extent. Revision requirements must be executed before publication on ZORA and approved by the doctoral committee. If there are no revision requirements, the PhD thesis can be published on ZORA immediatly after the sucessfully finished PhD defense.

Date of the PhD defense

Once all the relevant documents are available, the proposed date is confirmed and an invitation to the PhD defense is sent out. If by two weeks before the proposed date the documents are not available, another date must be proposed.

Video conference

If external members of the doctoral committee are unable to attend in person the PhD defense may be held by video conference. The Graduate School will set the definitive date and time and provide technical support.
Upon application, and provided that an encrypted video conference (Vidyo) facility is available, a PhD defense can also be held via video conference at a department.

At the very least the chair, the co-examiner, and two examiners must be present in person.

Note sheet and minutes

The chair of the doctoral committee (Vorsitz) is provided with a template for the note sheet and the co-examiner (Beisitz) with a template for the minutes. These must be completed immediately following the PhD defense, signed, and returned to the Degree team at the Office of Student Affairs.

PhD Defense

The PhD defense may only be held if an invitation has been sent; otherwise it is invalid.

  • The defense lasts between 60 and 90 minutes, and is led by the chair in the presence of all the members of the doctoral committee, and minuted by a co-examiner ("Beisitz"). The co-examiner can be a UZH member with at least a doctorate. 
  • The PhD defense consists of an introductory presentation lasting around 20 minutes by the candidate, and a subsequent discussion where the examiners ask questions in accordance with § 32 PromVO.
  • If the defense is held via a video conference, the chair must sign in place of absent persons.
  • If the defense does not involve a video conference, the committee must organize the room itself. 
  • The PhD defense will be marked Pass or Fail, and can be repeated once.
  • PhD defenses are open, but only to members of the faculty. This means that they are basically only accessible to people with a connection with the UZH Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences, in particular professors, non-professorial academic staff, administrative staff, PhD candidates, and students.

Grading

The classification is calculated on the basis of the arithmetic mean of the marks awarded by the reviewers. The assessment does not include grades for curricular coursework. Your PhD defense will be marked Pass or Fail.

Provisional final records

Once it has all the relevant documents, the Degree team at the Office of Student Affairs draws up the provisional final records and sends them to the PhD candidate along with copies of the expert reports and revision requirements. You are not permitted to use the designation «Dr. des.»

Publishing Your PhD Thesis

You must complete your doctoral studies, including publication, within six years. This period runs from the date of admission to the date of the diploma (see PromVO § 20).

ZORA (Zurich Open Repository and Archive)

With the entry into force of PromVO 2019, the procedure for obtaining a doctoral degree is concluded with the publication of the thesis on ZORA. This publication must incorporate the revision requirements prescribed by the doctoral committee.
Your thesis will be published by the Degree team at the Office of Student Affairs. You are not permitted to publish your thesis on ZORA yourself. Any duplicates will be removed by the Office of Student Affairs.

Publication on ZORA replaces publication as an e-PhD thesis or publication with a publisher, meaning that printed copies are no longer submitted.

Upon application, publication of the full text on ZORA can be blocked for three years. This enables you, in the interests of your academic or scientific career, to attempt to have your thesis published by a publisher, independent of the procedure for obtaining a doctoral degree.

If it is necessary to block the full text for more than three years, an extension of the blocking period can be requested after three years. If you are able to present a publishing publication or a publishing contract within the three years, this is a sufficient reason for blocking the dissertation on ZORA for an unlimited period of time. Unlimited blocking can also be applied for in the case of other legal restrictions (e.g. regarding image rights).

Please apply for publication with your PhD thesis transformed into an integral PDF-A (archivable PDF, please find instructions below) via Online PhD Admin Services.

There are three options for the publication on ZORA:

  1. immediate publication of the full text online, i.e. publicly available
  2. immediate publication of the full text in the UZH-internal web, i.e. only available with UZH shortname
  3. Blocking of full text for three years. After three years the full text will be publicly available

Option 3 is recommended if you attempt to have your thesis published by a publisher at a later time.

For a cumulative PhD thesis containing already published articles, please use the template for already published articles below. «DOI» (Digital Object Identifier) = permanent link of your already published article, e.g. by your publisher, journal or on ZORA.

Please note: After the publication on ZORA the doctorate is completed. No further changes of the uploaded PhD thesis are possible.

Documents:
Instructions PDF-A (German only) (PDF, 591 KB)
Template Titlepage English (PDF, 212 KB)
Template Titlepage German (PDF, 189 KB)
Template cumulative Dissertation (page for already published articles) (English) (PDF, 213 KB)
Template cumulative Dissertation (page for already published articles) (German) (PDF, 162 KB)

Final Records

The Degree team at the Office of Student Affairs draws up the full final records immediately following publication of the thesis on ZORA, and sends them to the candidate.  From this point you can use the title of doctor.

Graduation Ceremony

To celebrate doctoral degrees every year the faculty holds a graduation ceremony to which friends and family members are also invited. The ceremony is open only to PhD candidates who have published in the specified academic year. 

The next graduation ceremony is scheduled for the following date:

  • Publication in Fall Semester 2019 and Spring Semester 2020: 2 October 2020.

We will inform all doctoral candidates about the register deadlines in due time.

Invitation

Once you have registered for the graduation ceremony, a few weeks after the registration period has ended you will receive an invitation with precise details.

Guests

You can bring three guests to the graduation ceremony.

Abschluss des Doktorats (PromVO 2019)

Bei Fragen zum Abschluss des Doktorats wenden Sie sich bitte an abschluss@phil.uzh.ch

Informationen zum Abschluss gemäss PVO 2009
Informationen zum Abschluss gemäss PO 2006

Immatrikulationspflicht und Einschreibung

Immatrikulationspflicht

Studierende, die an der Universität Zürich (UZH) ein Doktorat absolvieren, müssen während des gesamten Doktoratsstudiums eingeschrieben sein. Die Immatrikulationspflicht gilt durchgehend bis einschliesslich des Semesters, in dem die Dissertation publiziert wird. Sobald Sie die provisorischen Abschlussdokumente erhalten haben, können Sie für die Dauer der Publikationsphase einen Urlaub beantragen (Studierendenportal). Im Publikationssemester müssen Sie sich wieder regulär immatrikulieren.
Rechtsgrundlagen der Immatrikulationspflicht sind die Verordnung über die Zulassung zum Studium an der Universität Zürich (VZS) und das Reglement über die Modalitäten des Immatrikulationsverfahrens und der Semestereinschreibung (RüMIS).

Können Sie keine durchgehende Immatrikulation an der UZH vorweisen, wenden Sie sich bitte mindestens vier Wochen vor der Anmeldung zur Promotionsprüfung schriftlich an graduiertenschule@phil.uzh.ch.

Einschreibung

Beachten Sie im Hinblick auf den Abschluss des Doktoratsstudiums bitte auch, dass Sie zwingend im richtigen Studiengang (Doktorat gemäss PromVO 2019) sowie im richtigen Doktoratsfach eingeschrieben sein müssen.
Wissen Sie nicht, welche Promotionsverordnung für Sie gilt, können Sie im Studierendenportal nachschauen.

Antrag auf Einsetzung der Promotionskommission und Einleitung des Promotionsverfahrens

Sobald eine voraussichtlich promotionsfähige Dissertation vorliegt, stellen Sie zusammen mit Ihrer Hauptbetreuungsperson über die Online Services Doktorat einen Antrag auf die Einleitung des Promotionsverfahrens bzw. die Einsetzung der Promotionskommission. Alle Mitglieder der Betreuungskommission müssen dem Antrag auf Einleitung des Promotionsverfahrens zustimmen.

Im Antrag integriert ist eine letzte Version der Doktoratsvereinbarung (Protokoll des vergangenen Jahres). Alle erbrachten curricularen Leistungen, die an den Abschluss angerechnet werden sollen, müssen in dieser Doktoratsvereinbarung aufgeführt sein. Die curricularen Leistungen, die an den Abschluss angerechnet werden, dürfen 12 ECTS Credits nicht überschreiten. Zusätzliche curriculare Leistungen, die über die 12 ECTS hinausgehen, werden in den Abschlussdokumenten aufgeführt.

Der Antrag auf Einleitung des Promotionsverfahrens muss innerhalb folgender Fristen erfolgen: 

  • Herbstsemester: Anmeldung bis spätestens 30. November (Promotionsprüfung bis 31. Januar)
  • Frühjahrssemester: Anmeldung bis spätestens 31. Mai (Promotionsprüfung bis 31. Juli)

Terminvorschlag für die Promotionsprüfung

Der Antrag muss einen Terminvorschlag für die Promotionsprüfung enthalten. Bitte beachten Sie, dass die Prüfung frühestens ab zwei Monaten nach Antragstellung stattfinden kann, da die Graduiertenschule die Gutachten zur Dissertation und die Überarbeitungsauflagen vor der Promotionsprüfung einholen muss. Die Mitglieder der Promotionskommission müssen ihre Gutachten in der Regel innerhalb von vier Monaten nach Antragstellung einreichen. Um den Prüfungstermin einhalten zu können, müssen alle Gutachten und Überarbeitungsauflagen mindestens zwei Wochen vor dem geplanten Prüfungstermin via Online Services Doktorat hochgeladen worden sein.
Im Herbstsemester kann eine Promotionsprüfung von 1. August bis 31. Januar stattfinden, im Frühjahrssemester von 1. Februar bis 31. Juli. Bitte beachten Sie daher die oben genannten Antragsfristen für die Einleitung des Promotionsverfahrens.

Eingereichte Dissertation und Plagiatsprüfung

Der Antrag muss die eingereichten Dissertation enthalten. Für die Publikation der Dissertation auf ZORA ist eine standardisierte Plagiatsprüfung durch die Hauptbetreuungsperson erforderlich. Von der UZH dafür vorgegeben ist die Plagiatserkennungssoftware «PlagScan». Die Software untersucht Dissertationen auf Textgleichheiten mit Quellen des Internets sowie lizensierter Fachliteratur. Die Software dient dabei als Werkzeug, um zu einer Beurteilung zu kommen. Die endgültige Entscheidung, ob ein Dokument Plagiate enthält oder nicht, muss von der Benutzerin bzw. dem Benutzer getroffen werden.

Anleitung für die Hauptbetreuungsperson:

  1. Öffnen Sie PlagScan (Link zu PlagScan rechts oben im Kästchen)
  2. Login via Shibboleth Login (Zugang: UZH Shortname und Passwort)
  3. Laden Sie das Belegexemplar der Dissertation hoch und starten Sie die Analyse. Die Einstellungen für die Analyse können unverändert gelassen werden (Default-Einstellungen). Je nach Grösse des Dokuments dauert die Analyse zwischen ein paar Minuten und maximal einem Tag. Die Analyse wird auf dem Server fortgeführt, auch wenn Sie offline gehen. 
  4. Prüfen Sie den Analysebericht. PlagScan markiert Treffer direkt im Dokument und auch in den Quellen. Durch Anklicken der markierten Stellen erhält man den Verweis auf andere Quellen. Der sogenannte Plaglevel gibt an, wie hoch der Prozentanteil des Textes ist, der in anderen Quellen wiedergefunden wurde. Der Plaglevel und die Markierungen im Bericht sind lediglich als Indiz für die eigene Prüfung zu verstehen. Die UZH gibt keinen bestimmten Schwellenwert vor, oberhalb dessen eine Dissertation als Plagiat definiert wird.
  5. Laden Sie den Bericht (Pdf der analysierten Dissertation) herunter und bewahren Sie ihn sicher auf.
  6. Löschen Sie das Belegexemplar mit dem Analysebericht in PlagScan und loggen Sie sich aus.
  7. Bitte bestätigen Sie die durchgeführte Plagiatsprüfung im Antrag auf Einsetzung der Promotionskommission via Online Services Doktorat (Checkbox am Ende des Antrags).

Zusammensetzung der Promotionskommission

Schema: Mögliche Promotionskommissionen
Schema: Mögliche Promotionskommissionen
Schema: Mögliche Promotionskommissionen

 

Hier finden Sie eine Übersicht über die interne und externe Promotions- und Betreuungssberechtigung an der PhF (gemäss PromVO 2019 (PDF, 47 KB)).

 

Organisation der Promotionsprüfung, Gutachten und Überarbeitungsauflagen

Die Graduiertenschule prüft die korrekte Zusammensetzung der Promotionskommission und die absolvierten curricularen Leistungen. Entspricht alles den Vorgaben, wird das Promotionsverfahren eingeleitet.

Gutachten

Alle Gutachten zur Dissertation werden vor der Promotionsprüfung eingeholt. Die Mitglieder der Promotionskommission müssen die Gutachten in der Regel innerhalb von vier Monaten via Online Services Doktorat einreichen. Um den gewünschten Prüfungstermin einhalten zu können, müssen die Gutachten mindestens zwei Wochen vor dem Termin eingetroffen sein.

Für die Gutachten wird den Mitgliedern der Promotionskommission per E-Mail eine Vorlage zur Verfügung gestellt. Jedes Mitglied der Promotionskommission (ausser dem Vorsitz) schreibt ein unabhängiges Gutachten, das sich ausschliesslich auf die eingereichte Dissertation bezieht und bewertet diese mit einer Note zwischen 1 bis 6, wobei 6 die beste und 1 die schlechteste Note bezeichnet (Halbnotenschritte sind möglich). Die Noten können voneinander abweichen.
Wird die Dissertation von allen Gutachtenden mindestens mit der Note 4 bewertet, gilt sie als angenommen und das Promotionsverfahren kann weitergeführt werden.

Liegt ein ungenügendes Gutachten vor, gilt die Dissertation als nicht angenommen und kann einmal wiederholt werden (d.h. verbessert). Die Dissertation muss danach von allen Mitgliedern der Promotionskommission erneut begutachtet werden.

Überarbeitungsauflagen für die Publikation

Gleichzeitig mit den Gutachten werden allfällige Überarbeitungsauflagen, die für die Publikation vorgesehen sind, eingeholt. Die Überarbeitungsauflagen werden von den Mitgliedern der Promotionskommission via Online Services Doktorat eingegeben und den Doktorierenden nach der Promotionsprüfung zusammen mit den provisorischen Abschlussdokumenten zugestellt.

Bitte beachten Sie: Wird die Dissertation mit mindestens der Note 4 benotet und damit angenommen, können Überarbeitungsauflagen nur in äusserst begrenztem Umfang auferlegt werden. Allfällige Überarbeitungsauflagen müssen vor der Publikation auf ZORA abgearbeitet und von der Promotionskommission genehmigt werden. Ohne Überarbeitungsauflagen kann die Dissertation nach bestandener Promotionsprüfung direkt auf ZORA publiziert werden.

Termin der Promotionsprüfung

Sind alle Unterlagen vollständig vorhanden, wird der Terminvorschlag bestätigt und eine Einladung zur Promotionsprüfung versendet. Sind die Unterlagen bis zwei Wochen vor dem vorgeschlagenen Termin nicht vorhanden, muss ein neuer Terminvorschlag gemacht werden.

Videokonferenz

Können externe Mitglieder der Promotionskommission nicht anreisen, kann die Promotionsprüfung per Videokonferenz durchgeführt werden. Die definitive Festsetzung des Termins sowie die technische Betreuung erfolgt durch die Graduiertenschule.
Auf Antrag und sofern eine geeignete verschlüsselte Videokonferenzmöglichkeit vorhanden ist (Vidyo-Anlage), kann eine Promotionsprüfung über Videokonferenz auch an einem Institut durchgeführt werden.

Es müssen mindestens Vorsitz, Beisitz sowie zwei Mitglieder der Promotionskommission persönlich anwesend sein.

Notenblatt und Protokoll

Der Vorsitz der Promotionskommission erhält die Vorlage für das Notenblatt. Der Beisitz erhält diejenige für das Protokoll. Notenblatt und Protokoll müssen unmittelbar nach der Promotionsprüfung ausgefüllt und unterzeichnet an das Studiendekanat, Team Studienabschlüsse retourniert werden.

Promotionsprüfung

Die Promotionsprüfung darf erst durchgeführt werden, wenn eine Einladung versendet worden ist. Andernfalls ist sie ungültig.

  • Die Prüfung dauert 60 bis 90 Minuten und wird unter der Leitung des Vorsitzes in Anwesenheit aller Mitglieder der Promotionskommission durchgeführt und von einer Beisitzerin oder einem Beisitzer protokolliert. Als Beisitzerin oder Beisitzer können Angehörige der UZH beigezogen werden, die mindestens über einen Doktorgrad verfügen. 
  • Die Promotionsprüfung besteht aus einem einleitenden Vortrag durch die Doktorandin oder den Doktoranden, der insgesamt ca. 20 Minuten dauert, und der daran anschliessenden Diskussion, bei welcher die Mitglieder der Promotionskommission nach § 32 PromVO Fragen stellen.
  • Findet die Prüfung mit Videokonferenz statt, sind die Unterschriften von abwesenden Personen durch Unterschriften des Vorsitzes zu ersetzen.
  • Findet die Prüfung ohne Videokonferenz statt, muss der Raum selber organisiert werden. 
  • Die Promotionsprüfung wird mit bestanden / nicht bestanden bewertet und kann einmal wiederholt werden.
  • Promotionsprüfungen sind fakultätsöffentlich. Damit sind sie grundsätzlich nur für Personen zugänglich, die in einem Zusammenhang mit der Philosophischen Fakultät der UZH stehen, wie insbesondere Professorinnen und Professoren, Mitarbeitende des Mittelbaus oder des administrativen Personals und Doktorierende oder Studierende.

Bewertung

Aus den Noten der Gutachten wird anhand des arithmetischen Mittels das Prädikat ermittelt. Bewertungen aus curricularen Leistungen fliessen nicht mit in die Bewertung ein. Die Promotionsprüfung wird mit bestanden / nicht bestanden bewertet.

Provisorische Abschlussdokumente

Nach Vorliegen aller Unterlagen erstellt das Studiendekanat, Team Studienabschlüsse, die provisorischen Abschlussdokumente und stellt diese zusammen mit Kopien der Gutachten und der Überarbeitungsauflagen den Doktorierenden zu. Das Führen der Bezeichnung «Dr. des.» ist nicht zulässig.

Publikation der Dissertation

Das Doktoratsstudium muss einschliesslich der Publikation innerhalb von sechs Jahren beendet werden. Die Frist läuft vom Zulassungsdatum bis zum Datum des Diploms (vgl. PromVO § 20).

ZORA (Zurich Open Repository and Archive)

Mit Inkrafttreten der PromVO 2019 wird das Promotionsverfahren mit der Publikation der Dissertation auf ZORA abgeschlossen. Die von der Promotionskommission vorgegebenen Überarbeitungsauflagen müssen für diese Publikation eingearbeitet werden.
Die Publikation wird durch das Studiendekanat, Team Studienabschlüsse, vorgenommen. Es ist nicht zulässig, die Publikation auf ZORA selber vorzunehmen. Allfällige Duplikate werden durch das Studiendekanat entfernt.

Die Publikation auf ZORA ersetzt die Publikation als E-Dissertation oder als Verlagspublikation und die Abgabe gedruckter Exemplare entfällt damit vollständig. 

Die Publikation des Volltextes auf ZORA kann für drei Jahre gesperrt werden. Damit wird gewährleistet, dass Sie für Ihre wissenschaftliche Laufbahn eine vom Promotionsverfahren unabhängige Verlagspublikation anstreben können. Sollte eine Sperrung des Volltexts länger als drei Jahre notwendig sein, kann nach drei Jahren eine Verlängerung der Sperrfrist beantragt werden. Können Sie innerhalb der drei Jahre eine Verlagspublikation bzw. einen Verlagsvertrag vorweisen, ist das ein hinreichender Grund für eine zeitlich unbeschränkte Sperrung der Dissertation auf ZORA. Auch bei anderen rechtlichen Einschränkungen (z.B. bezüglich Bildrechten) kann eine unbeschränkte Sperrung beantragt werden.

Bitte beantragen Sie die Publikation mit einem integralen PDF-A (archivierbares PDF, eine Anleitung finden Sie weiter unten) über die Online Services Doktorat

Bei der Option «Publikation auf ZORA» finden Sie drei Möglichkeiten vor:

  1. sofortige Publikation des Volltextes auf dem www, d.h. öffentlich einsehbar.
  2. sofortige Publikation des Volltextes im UZH-internen Web, d.h. nur mit shortname der UZH einsehbar.
  3. Sperre des Volltextes für 3 Jahre, nach Ablauf der Frist Publikation im www. 

Option 3 ist insbesondere zu empfehlen, wenn Sie eine spätere Verlagspublikation planen.

Bei einer kumulativen Dissertation, die bereits publizierte Artikel enthält, verwenden Sie bitte die Vorlage für bereits publizierte Artikel. Der DOI (Digital Object Identifier) entspricht dem Permalink, auf dem der Artikel publiziert wurde, z.B. bei Ihrem Verlag, Journal oder auf ZORA.

Bitte beachten Sie: Nach der Publikation der Dissertation auf ZORA ist das Promotionsverfahren abgeschlossen und es sind keine Änderungen an der hochgeladenen Dissertation mehr möglich.

Dokumente:

Anleitung PDF-A Erstellung (PDF, 591 KB)
Vorlage Titelblatt in deutscher Sprache (PDF, 189 KB)
Vorlage Titelblatt in englischer Sprache (PDF, 212 KB)
Vorlage kumulative Dissertation deutsch (Seite für bereits publizierte Artikel) (PDF, 162 KB)
Vorlage kumulative Dissertation englisch (Seite für bereits publizierte Artikel) (PDF, 213 KB)

Abschlussdokumente

Das Studiendekanat, Team Studienabschlüsse, erstellt die definitiven Abschlussdokumente unmittelbar nach der Publikation der Dissertation auf ZORA und stellt diese den Doktorierenden zu. Ab diesem Zeitpunkt darf der Doktortitel geführt werden.

Promotionsfeier

Zur Feier der Promotionsabschlüsse führt die Fakultät jährlich eine Promotionsfeier durch, zu der auch Angehörige und Bekannte eingeladen sind. Zur Feier berechtigt sind Doktorierende, die im genannten akademischen Jahr publiziert haben. 

Für die nächste Promotionsfeier ist folgender Termin vorgesehen:

  • Publikation im Herbstsemester 2019 und Frühjahrssemester 2020: 2. Oktober 2020

Über das Anmeldeprozedere werden wir die Absolventinnen und Absolventen rechtzeitig informieren. 

Einladung

Haben Sie sich zur Feier angemeldet, erhalten Sie einige Wochen nach Ablauf der Anmeldefrist eine Einladungskarte mit den genauen Informationen zur Promotionsfeier. 

Gäste

Sie können drei Gäste an die Promotionsfeier mitnehmen.