Master's Degree

The Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences of the University of Zurich is the biggest faculty of humanities, cultural studies, social sciences, and psychology in Switzerland. Its course offering consists of carefully designed programs with a wide range of possible combinations. Master’s programs equip you with the ability to do independent scholarly research on the basis of in-depth academic training or training to extend your interdisciplinary skills. A Master’s degree is a requirement if you want to study for a doctorate.

Master’s Degree Programs, Major, Minor and Single Major Study Programs, Titles and Degrees

A Master’s study program at the Faculty of Arts is worth 120 ECTS credits. You can earn these credits in a major (90 ECTS credits) plus a minor (30 ECTS credits) study program, or in a single major study program (120 ECTS credits). This corresponds to four semesters of full-time study (regular duration of study).

Some combinations of major and minor study programs are not permitted if they consist of programs at Bachelor’s and Master’s level covering similar subject matter. You’ll find details of combinations that are not permitted in the annex to the relevant program regulation.

The title you earn on successful completion of a Master’s study program depends on your major or single major program:

  • Master of Arts UZH, MA UZH (for a major or single major in humanities or cultural studies)
  • Master of Arts UZH in Social Sciences, MA UZH (for a major or single major in social sciences)
  • Master of Science UZH in Psychology, MSc UZH (for a major or single major in psychology)

Courses of Study

You can get an insight into the new courses of study offered by the Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences from the initial offering, Master’s level. (PDF, 110 KB)

Master’s at more than one University (Joint Degrees)

Joint Master’s Degree Program in «Comparative and International Studies»

The Master’s degree program offered jointly with ETH Zurich looks into key questions of political order and government against the backdrop of international integration. You will find more information on the ETH Zurich website.

Joint Master’s Degree Program in «Teaching Natural Sciences»

The Master’s Degree Program in Teaching Natural Sciences offered jointly with ETH Zurich and the Zurich University of Teacher Education opens up a wealth of perspectives for teaching natural sciences, with the emphasis on nature and technology, biology, chemistry, and physics. You will find more information on the Zurich University of Teacher Education website.

Joint Master’s Degree Program in «Teaching Classroom German»

The Master’s Degree Program in Teaching Classroom German offered jointly with ETH Zurich and the Zurich University of Teacher Education opens up a wealth of perspectives in relation to German as a school subject and developing language skills in other school subjects. You willfind more information on the Zurich University of Teacher Education website.

Joint Master’s Degree Program in «Teaching Media and IT»

The program in Teaching Media and IT offered jointly with the Schwyz University of Teacher Education, the Lucerne University of Teacher Education (PHLU) and the Lucerne University of Applied Sciences and Arts equips you with the latest knowledge on teaching, learning, and researching communications- and IT-related phenomena. The joint master’s degree program in Teaching Media and IT closes a significant gap in the higher education landscape. You will find more information on the Schwyz University of Teacher Education website.

Master

Die Philosophische Fakultät der Universität Zürich ist die grösste Fakultät der Schweiz für Geistes- und Kulturwissenschaften, Sozialwissenschaften und Psychologie. Das Studienangebot besteht aus profilierten Studiengängen mit vielfältigen Kombinationsmöglichkeiten. Die Masterstudiengänge vermitteln Ihnen die Fähigkeit zum selbständigen wissenschaftlichen Arbeiten auf der Grundlage einer vertieften wissenschaftlichen Ausbildung oder einer interdisziplinären wissenschaftlichen Erweiterung. Ein Masterabschluss ist Voraussetzung für ein Doktoratsstudium.

Masterstudiengänge, Major-, Minor- und Mono-Studienprogramme, Titel und Abschlüsse

Der Masterstudiengang an der Philosophischen Fakultät umfasst 120 ECTS Credits. Diese erwerben Sie in einem Major- (90 ECTS Credits) und in einem Minor-Studienprogramm (30 ECTS Credits) oder in einem Mono-Studienprogramm (120 ECTS Credits). Bei einem Vollzeitstudium entspricht dies einer Regelstudienzeit von vier Semestern.

Einige Kombinationen von Major- und Minor-Studienprogrammen sind nicht zulässig, wenn sie sich aus fachwissenschaftlich ähnlichen Programmen auf Bachelor- und Masterstufe zusammensetzen. Über unzulässige Kombinationen informiert der entsprechende Anhang zur jeweiligen Studienordnung.

Der Titel, den sie mit dem erfolgreichen Abschluss eines Masterstudiengangs erwerben, richtet sich nach Ihrem Major- oder Mono-Studienprogramm:

  • Master of Arts UZH, MA UZH (geistes- und kulturwissenschaftliches Major- oder Mono-Studienprogramm)
  • Master of Arts UZH in Sozialwissenschaften, MA UZH (sozialwissenschaftliches Major- oder Mono-Studienprogramm)
  • Master of Science UZH in Psychologie, MSc UZH (psychologisches Major- oder Mono-Studienprogramm)

Studienangebot

Einen Einblick in das neue Angebot auf der Philosophischen Fakultät bieten Ihnen das Startportfolio der Masterstufe (PDF, 110 KB)

Hochschulübergreifende Masterstudiengänge (Joint Degrees)

Joint-Degree-Master-Studiengang «Comparative and International Studies»

Der gemeinsam mit der ETH Zürich angebotene Joint-Degree-Master-Studiengang behandelt Kernfragen der politischen Ordnung und des Regierens unter den Bedingungen internationaler Verflechtung. Weitere Informationen sind auf der Webseite der ETH-Zürich erhältlich.

Joint-Degree-Master-Studiengang «Fachdidaktik Naturwissenschaften»

Der gemeinsam mit der ETH Zürich und der Pädagogischen Hochschule Zürich (PHZH) angebotene Masterstudiengang «Fachdidaktik Naturwissenschaften» eröffnet vielfältige fachdidaktische Ausbildungsperspektiven mit den Schwerpunkten Natur und Technik, Biologie, Chemie und Physik. Weitere Informationen sind auf der Webseite der PHZH erhältlich.

Joint-Degree-Master-Studiengang «Fachdidaktik Schulsprache Deutsch»

Der gemeinsam mit der ETH Zürich und der Pädagogischen Hochschule Zürich (PHZH) angebotene Joint-Degree-Master-Studiengang «Fachdidaktik Schulsprache Deutsch» eröffnet vielfältige fachdidaktische Ausbildungsperspektiven im Bereich des Schulfachs Deutsch und der Sprachförderung in den anderen Schulfächern. Weitere Informationen sind auf der Webseite der PHZH erhältlich.

Joint-Degree-Master-Studiengang «Fachdidaktik Medien und Informatik»

Der gemeinsam mit der Pädagogischen Hochschule Schwyz (PHSZ), der Pädagogischen Hochschule Luzern (PH Luzern) und der Hochschule Luzern (HSLU) angebotene Studiengang «Fachdidaktik Medien und Informatik» vermittelt aktuelles Wissen zum Lehren und Lernen von medien- und kommunikationswissenschaftlichen und informatischen Phänomenen und zur Erforschung dieser Vermittlungsprozesse. Mit dem gemeinsamen Master in Fachdidaktik Medien und Informatik wird eine bedeutsame Lücke in der Hochschullandschaft geschlossen. Weitere Informationen sind auf der Website der PHSZ erhältlich.

Weiterführende Informationen