Application and Admission to Studies

General Information and Admission Requirements

Please contact Student Services if you have general questions about applying, admission or matriculation. They can provide information on the following topics in particular:

  • Compulsory matriculation
  • Application deadlines and procedure
  • Language requirements
  • Fees and contributions
  • Forms and regulations (legal basis)
  • Entering the country and residence
  • Assistance for people with an impairment or chronic illness

Admission to a Bachelor’s Program

For information on the application procedure and admission to a Bachelor’s program, please contact the Student Administration Office (for a Swiss educational background) or the Admissions Office (for a foreign educational background).

Admission to a Master’s Program as of Fall Semester 2019

Admission to a Master’s degree program at the UZH is subject to the terms of the Ordinance on Admission to Studies at the University of Zurich (Verordnung über die Zulassung zum Studium an der Universität Zürich, VZS; German only).

If you want to study at the Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences there are specific additional requirements to be met. For more information, please consult the framework ordinance governing study in the Bachelor’s and Master’s degree programs offered by the University of Zurich’s Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences, 28 September 2018 version.

As of Fall Semester 2019, a Master’s program at the Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences is worth 120 ECTS credits. You can earn these credits in a major (90 ECTS credits) plus a minor (30 ECTS credits) study program or choose a single-major study program (120 ECTS credits).

Master’s study programs fall into two different categories: consecutive and specialized study programs.

A consecutive Master’s study program follows on from one or more Bachelor’s study programs. For admission to a consecutive study program you must meet a set of academic requirements, with the knowledge and skills you acquired at Bachelor’s level checked on an individual basis. Any knowledge and skills you lack and have to catch up on will be specified as restrictions that you then have to fulfill in the course of your Master’s studies.

A specialized Master’s study program does not follow on from a specific Bachelor’s study program. For this reason admission is subject to additional conditions over and above the academic requirements.

A complementary minor study program is intended to supplement the major study programs with additional discipline-specific or cross-disciplinary content. It is neither consecutive nor specialized, and is not subject to any specific requirements.

For admission to a major or minor study program you must meet the academic requirements, a set of knowledge and skills you are expected to have acquired in the course of your Bachelor’s degree. The academic requirements come to a maximum of 60 ECTS credits for admission to a major or minor study program, and a maximum of 120 ECTS credits for admission to single-major study program. Certain single-major study programs require you to have completed a specific Bachelor’s study program. You’ll find details of requirements in the annex to the relevant program regulation.

The restrictions for a major/minor combination or a single-major study program may not exceed 60 ECTS credits. If they do, your application will be rejected.

Contact

More questions on admissions to a Master’s program? Please contact Student Services.

Degrees from Universities of Applied Sciences and Teacher Education

Admission to a Master’s with a Bachelor’s degree from a university of applied sciences or teacher education is subject to the 5 November 2007 Agreement of the CRUS with the KFH and the COHEP regarding the freedom to choose a higher education institution. The appendix to this agreement contains an exhaustive list of possible transfers.

Glossary for Applications to a Master’s Program

Academic requirements

The academic requirements consist of the knowledge and skills you are expected to have acquired in the course of your Bachelor’s degree to qualify for admission to a consecutive Master’s program. These requirements may come to a maximum of 60 ECTS credits for major and minor study programs, and a maximum of 120 ECTS credits for single-major programs. You will find details of requirements in the annex to the relevant program regulation.

Restrictions

If you do not meet all the requirements, your admission to a Master’s study program will be made subject to certain restrictions laid down by the Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences. To fulfill these restrictions you will have to catch up on certain Bachelor’s-level coursework during your Master’s studies. These restrictions may not exceed 60 ECTS credits. If they do, you will not be admitted and your application will be rejected. 

Consecutive Master’s study programs

Consecutive single-major, major, and minor study programs follow on from one or more Bachelor’s study programs. They assume certain prior knowledge and skills, which are formulated in the academic requirements. 

Specialized Master’s study programs

Specialized Master’s study programs are single-major or major study programs that don’t build on or follow on from a specific Bachelor’s study program. In some cases admission to these programs is subject to additional requirements over and above the academic requirements, for example an entrance examination or a minimum grade at Bachelor’s level. These requirements are set down in the relevant annexes to the program regulation.

Complementary minor study programs

Complementary minor study programs are non-consecutive, non-specialized study programs designed to supplement major study programs with additional discipline-specific or cross-disciplinary content. They are not subject to admission requirements or academic requirements.
 

Admission to Doctoral Study

Admission to Doctoral Study

You will find information on admission to doctoral study on the Student Services website.

Provisional Confirmation of Supervision

Applications for doctoral studies under the 2019 Regulations for Obtaining the Doctoral Degree (PromVO 2019) are possible from 1 January 2019. To apply, please submit the Provisional Confirmation of Supervision (PromVO 2019) to the graduate school of the Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences. Please download the form first so that you can fill it out properly.Form for provisional confirmation of supervision (PDF, 1039 KB) (PDF, 242 KB)At the Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences this form replaces the confirmation of doctoral study from Student Services.

Doctoral Agreement (PVO 2009)

You must make a doctoral agreement with the doctoral committee responsible, scan it and send it to the Office of Student Affairs no later than 12 months after admission. If external committee members are planned they will be checked within the framework of the doctoral agreement 

Form for doctoral agreement (PDF, 311 KB)

You will find further implementation provisions affecting admission to a doctorate outside your own discipline, cotutelles de thèse, and the admission of graduates from a Swiss university of applied sciences, under Legal Basis.

Bewerbung und Zulassung zum Studium

Allgemeine Informationen und Zulassungsvoraussetzungen

Für allgemeine Fragen zur Bewerbung, Zulassung und Immatrikulation ist die Abteilung Studierende zuständig. Dort erhalten Sie Informationen insbesondere zu den folgenden Themen:

  • Immatrikulationspflicht
  • Bewerbungsfristen und Bewerbungsablauf
  • sprachliche Anforderungen
  • Gebühren und Beiträge
  • Formulare und Reglemente (Rechtsgrundlagen)
  • Einreise und Aufenthalt
  • Hilfe für Personen mit Behinderung oder chronischer Krankheit

Zulassung zum Bachelorstudium

Für Informationen zum Bewerbungsverfahren und über die Zulassung zum Bachelorstudium sind die Kanzlei (Schweizer Vorbildung) und die Zulassungsstelle (ausländische Vorbildung) zuständig.

Zulassung zum Masterstudium per Herbstsemester 2019

Für die Aufnahme in einen Masterstudiengang an der UZH ist die Verordnung über die Zulassung zum Studium an der Universität Zürich (VZS) massgebend.

Für ein Studium an der Philosophischen Fakultät bestehen spezifische Vorgaben, die Sie zusätzlich erfüllen müssen. Bitte konsultieren Sie dazu die Studienordnung für das Studium in den Bachelor- und Masterstudiengängen an der Philosophischen Fakultät der Universität Zürich vom 28. September 2018.

Ab dem Herbstsemester 2019 umfasst ein Masterstudium an der Philosophischen Fakultät 120 ECTS Credits. Sie können Ihr Studium entweder aus einem Major- (90 ECTS Credits) und einem Minor-Studienprogramm (30 ECTS Credits) zusammensetzen oder ein Mono-Studienprogramm (120 ECTS Credits) wählen.

Bei den Masterstudienprogrammen wird zwischen konsekutiven und spezialisierten Studienprogrammen unterschieden.

Ein konsekutives Masterstudienprogramm schliesst an ein oder mehrere Bachelorstudienprogramme an. Die Zulassung zu einem konsekutiven Studienprogramm erfolgt auf der Basis eines fachlichen Anforderungsprofils. Ihre Kenntnisse und Kompetenzen, die Sie auf Bachelorstufe erworben haben, werden einzeln geprüft. Fehlende Kenntnisse und Kompetenzen, die Sie nachträglich erwerben müssen, werden als Auflagen festgelegt, die Sie während des Masterstudiums absolvieren. 

Ein spezialisiertes Masterstudienprogramm schliesst nicht an ein bestimmtes Bachelor-Studienprogramm an. Daher gelten für die Zulassung neben den fachinhaltlichen Vorgaben weitere Voraussetzungen. 

Ein komplementäres Minor-Studienprogramm ist als fachliche oder fächerübergreifende Ergänzung zu den Major-Studienprogrammen gedacht. Es ist weder konsekutiv noch spezialisiert und erfordert keine bestimmten Voraussetzungen.

Um zu einem Major- oder Minor-Studienprogramm zugelassen zu werden, müssen Sie das fachliche Anforderungsprofil erfüllen. Dieses enthält die Kenntnisse und Kompetenzen, die Sie aus dem Bachelor mitbringen müssen. Für die Zulassung zu einem Major- oder Minor-Studienprogramm umfasst das fachliche Anforderungsprofil je höchstens 60 ECTS Credits, für Mono-Studienprogramme sind es höchstens 120 ECTS Credits. Für gewisse Mono-Studienprogramme ist der Abschluss eines spezifischen Bachelor-Studienprogramms erforderlich. Sie finden das Anforderungsprofil in den programmspezifischen Anhängen zur Studienordnung.

Die Auflagen für eine Major-Minor-Kombination oder für das Mono-Studienprogramm dürfen insgesamt 60 ECTS Credits nicht übersteigen. Ansonsten wird die Bewerbung abgewiesen.

Kontakt

Haben Sie weitere Fragen zur Masterzulassung? Wenden Sie sich an die Student Services. 

Bachelorabschlüsse von Schweizer Fachhochschulen und Pädagogischen Hochschulen

Für eine Zulassung zum Masterstudium mit einem Bachelordiplom einer schweizerischen Fachhochschule oder Pädagogischen Hochschule gelten die oben genannten Zulassungskriterien. Zudem wird ein Bachelorabschluss mit mindestens der Gesamtnote 5 (ungerundet) vorausgesetzt. Es gilt die Vereinbarung über die Durchlässigkeit zwischen den Hochschultypen der CRUS, der KFH und der COHEP vom 5. November 2007.

Glossar für Masterbewerbungen

Fachliches Anforderungsprofil

Das fachliche Anforderungsprofil enthält die aus dem Bachelorstudium erwarteten Kenntnisse und Kompetenzen, die für die Zulassung in ein konsekutives Masterstudienprogramm relevant sind. Bei Major- und Minor-Studienprogrammen umfasst es höchstens 60 ECTS Credits, bei Mono-Studienprogrammen maximal 120 ECTS Credits. Sie finden das Anforderungsprofil in den programmspezifischen Anhängen zur Studienordnung.

Auflagen

Erfüllen Sie das fachliche Anforderungsprofil nicht vollständig, wird Ihre Zulassung zum Masterstudium mit Auflagen verbunden, die die Philosophische Fakultät festlegt. Auflagen sind Leistungen der Bachelorstufe, die Sie im Verlauf Ihres Masterstudiums nachholen müssen. Die Auflagen dürfen höchstens 60 ECTS Credits umfassen. Sind es mehr, wird keine Zulassung erteilt und die Bewerbung abgewiesen. 

Konsekutive Master-Studienprogramme

Konsekutive Mono-, Major- und Minor-Studienprogramme schliessen an ein oder mehrere bestimmte Bachelor-Studienprogramme an. Sie setzen gewisse Kenntnisse und Kompetenzen voraus, die im fachlichen Anforderungsprofil formuliert sind. 

Spezialisierte Master-Studienprogramme

Spezialisierte Masterstudienprogramme sind Mono- oder Major-Studienprogramme, die inhaltlich nicht an ein bestimmtes Bachelor-Studienprogramm anknüpfen. Für die Zulassung gelten neben den fachinhaltlichen Vorgaben teilweise zusätzliche Voraussetzungen wie zum Beispiel eine Aufnahmeprüfung oder eine Mindestnote beim Bachelorabschluss. Die Voraussetzungen sind in den zugehörigen Anhängen zur Studienordnung aufgeführt.

Komplementäre Minor-Studienprogramme

Komplementäre Minor-Studienprogramme sind nicht-konsekutive, nicht-spezialisierte Studienprogramme, die als fachliche oder fachübergreifende Ergänzung zu Major-Studienprogrammen konzipiert sind. Für diese bestehen keine Zulassungsvoraussetzungen und kein fachliches Anforderungsprofil.
 

Zulassung zum Doktoratsstudium

Zulassung zum Doktoratsstudium

Informationen zur Zulassung zum Doktorat erhalten Sie auf der Webseite der Abteilung Studierende.

Vorbehaltliche Betreuungsbestätigung (PromVO 2019)

Die Bewerbung für ein Doktoratsstudium unter der Verordnung über das Doktorat an der PhF (PromVO 2019) ist ab 1. Januar 2019 möglich. Für die Bewerbung reichen Sie bitte die vorbehaltliche Betreuungsbestätigung bei der Graduiertenschule der Philosophischen Fakultät ein. Bitte laden Sie dieses Formular zuerst runter, damit es richtig ausgefüllt werden kann.

Formular für die vorbehaltliche Betreuungsbestätigung (PDF, 242 KB)

Formular für die vorbehaltliche Betreuungsbestätigung (Englisch) (PDF, 244 KB)

Dieses Formular ersetzt an der Philosophischen Fakultät die «Bestätigung für Doktorierende» der Abteilung Studierende.

Doktoratsvereinbarung (Promotionsordnung 2009)

Treffen Sie spätestens zwölf Monate nach der Zulassung mit der zuständigen Promotionskommission eine Doktoratsvereinbarung und reichen Sie diese als Scan beim Studiendekanat ein. Falls externe Kommissionsmitglieder vorgesehen sind, werden diese mit der Doktoratsvereinbarung geprüft . 

Formular der Doktoratsvereinbarung (PDF, 311 KB) (PDF, 311 KB)

Weitere Ausführungsbestimmungen zum Doktorat betreffend Zulassung zu einer fachfremden Promotion, Cotutelles de thèse sowie Zulassung von Absolventinnen oder Absolventen einer Schweizer Fachhochschule finden Sie unter den Rechtsgrundlagen.