People and Roles

PhD Coordinators

The coordinators are the first point of contact for you as a PhD candidate, serving as the interface between the Graduate School, candidates, and supervisors. The supervisory committee is responsible for subject-matter support for candidates.

If you have any questions or would like to make an appointment for a consultation, please e-mail the coordinator responsible for your PhD subject
Person PhD Coordinator for Contact
Dr. Stefan Riegelnik

History and Philosophy

Telefonbuch (PHILOS)
Telefonbuch (HIST)

Dr. Milena Guthörl

Classics, Asian and Oriental Studies, and Gender Studies

Dr. Miriam Volmert Film Studies, Art History, Musicology and Cultural Analysis +41 44 634 28 46; 
Dr. Christoph Steier

Literary Studies
Dr. Sascha Völlmin

Linguistics, Computational Linguistics and Phonetics

Dr. Maike Krannich

PD Dr. Martina Koch

Education and Teaching

Dr. Doreen Spörer-Wagner

Social Sciences (Communication and Media Research, Cultural Studies, Political Science, Social and Cultural Anhropology, Sociology)


Coordination Office

The office’s main role is coordinating administrative processes within the Graduate School. It draws up and reviews quality assurance measures, and provides the Graduate School Vice Dean of Studies with input as a basis for making decisions. Together with the coordinators, the office is the point of contact for PhD candidates, supervisors, institutes, and departments.

Our office counter is open Tuesdays, 1-3 pm (SOC F 102). You can also contact us via email and phone.

Person Role Contact Availability
Dr. Sandra Schneeberger Office Manager Telefonbuch  Mon–Fri
Regula Sprecher Doctoral affairs Telefonbuch  Tues–Thurs

Vice Dean of Studies

The Graduate School Vice Dean of Studies heads the Graduate School. She is also the confidant and person to contact in the event of conflict at the doctoral level.

Please submit any applications and general inquiries to the Vice Dean of Studies via  Online PhD Admin Services or via e-mail:

Person Role   Contact  
Prof. Dr. Fabienne Liptay Graduate School Vice Dean of Studies  

Academic Integrity Officer for PhD students

In case of conflicts or problems with supervisors, you can contact the Graduate School Vice Dean of Studies.

Prof. Dr. Fabienne Liptay
Universität Zürich
Philosophische Fakultät
Rämistrasse 69
CH-8001 Zürich

A first point of contact may also be your PhD coordinator.

Executive Committee

The Graduate School Executive Committee is a Permanent Committee of the Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences. It comprises the Graduate School Vice Dean of Studies, who by virtue of her office chairs the committee, and eight additional members who are full and associate professors, who represent the PhD subjects in the various groups of subjects. In addition to this is one representative of each of the bodies.

Members of the Executive Committee (term of office 1 February 2021–31 January 2023)

Person Mitglied im Fachausschuss
Prof. Dr. Fabienne Liptay (Prodekanin)  
Prof. Dr. Hans-Johann Glock Geschichte und Philosophie
Prof. Dr. Andrea Riemenschnitter Altertums-, Asien-Orient-Wissenschaften, Gender Studies
Prof. Dr. Inga Mai Groote Film- und Musikwissenschaft, Kunstgeschichte, Kulturanalyse
Prof. Dr. Sylvia Sasse Literaturwissenschaft
Prof. Dr. Francesco Gardani Linguistik, Computerlinguistik und Phonetik
Prof. Dr. Veronika Brandstätter Psychologie
Prof. Dr. Kai Niebert Erziehungswissenschaft und Fachdidaktik
Prof. Dr. Marco Steenbergen Sozialwissenschaften
Dr. Marco Giesselmann Ständevertretung FFL
Ulrich Brandenburg MA Ständevertretung WNW
Claudia Hiestand Ständevertretung ATP
Fabio-Pascal Huber Ständevertretung Studierende

Subject Boards

Each subject board comprises between two and six subject representatives who are professors, plus at least one representative of the PhD candidates (the number of members representing PhD candidates must not be more than one-third of the number of professors on a particular subject board). 
Each subject board guides and advises the coordinators from a subject matter point of view; it supports coordinators with the development of subject-matter-related, cross-disciplinary and interdisciplinary events courses and events, and informs the organization unit it represents on subject-matter topics and all other matters dealt with by the specialist committee.

Members of the Subject Boards (Term of Office 1 February 2021–31 January 2023)

Subject Board Geschichte und Philosophie
Prof. Dr. Francisca Loetz
Prof. Dr. Gesine Krüger
Prof. Dr. Hans-Johann Glock
Prof. Dr. Anne Meylan
Vertretung der Doktorierenden: Krystina Schaub (MA)
PhD Coordinator: Dr. Stefan Riegelnik
Subject Board Altertums-, Asien-Orient-Wissenschaften, Gender Studies
Prof. Dr. Carmen Cardelle
Prof. Dr. Philippe Della Casa
Prof. Dr. Andrea Riemenschnitter
Vertretung der Doktorierenden: Alexandra Ciorciaro (MA)
PhD Coordinator: Dr. Milena Guthörl
Subject Board Film- und Musikwissenschaft, Kunstgeschichte, Kulturanalyse
Prof. Dr. Inga Mai Groote
Prof. Dr. Joris van Gastel
Prof. Dr. Daniel Wiegand
Prof. Dr. Bettina Gockel
Prof. Dr. Klaus Müller-Wille
Vertretung der Doktorierenden: Viviane Nora Brodmann (MA)
PhD Coordinator: Dr. Miriam Volmert
Subject Board Literaturwissenschaft
Prof. Dr. Johannes Bartuschat
Prof. Dr. Elisabeth Bronfen
Prof. Dr. Davide Giuriato
Prof. Dr. Lena Rohrbach

Prof. Dr. Sylvia Sasse

Prof. Dr. Sandro Zanetti
Vertretung der Doktorierenden: Raoul DuBois (MA), Claudia Tassone (MA)
PhD Coordinator: Dr. Christoph Steier
Subject Board Linguistik, Computerlinguistik und Phonetik
Prof. Dr. Francesco Gardani
Prof. Dr. Volker Dellwo
Prof. Dr. Barbara Sonnenhauser

Prof. Dr. Guido Seiler

Prof. Dr. Sabine Stoll

Prof. Dr. Olga Timofeeva

Vertretung der Doktorierenden: Noëmi Aepli (MA), Christian Ebert (MA)
PhD Coordinator: Dr. Sascha Völlmin
Subject Board Psychologie
Prof. Dr. Veronika Brandstätter
Prof. Dr. Alexandra M. Freund
Prof. Dr. Brigit Kleim
Prof. Dr. Lutz Jäncke
Prof. Dr. Carolin Strobl
Prof. Dr. Johannes Ullrich
Vertretung der Doktorierenden: Selina Landolt (MSc), Nathalie von Rooy (MSc)
PhD Coordinator: Dr. Maike Krannich
Subject Board Erziehungswissenschaft und Fachdidaktik
Prof. Dr. Kai Niebert
Prof. Dr. Anna-Katharina Praetorius
Prof. Dr. Stefan Hauser (PH Zug)
Vertretung der Doktorierenden: Simon Luger (MA)
PhD Coordinator: PD Dr. Martina Koch
Subject Board Sozialwissenschaften
Prof. Dr. Daniele Caramani
Prof. Dr. Annuska Derks
Prof. Dr. Moritz Ege
Prof. Dr. Mark Eisenegger
Prof. Dr. Katja Rost
Prof. Dr. Marco Steenbergen
Vertretung der Doktorierenden: Natalie Borsy (MA), Reto Mitteregger (MA)
PhD Coordinator Dr. Doreen Spörer-Wagner

Graduate School

The Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences Graduate School is the organizational and administrative umbrella for all PhD subjects offered by the University of Zurich Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences. 

The Graduate School is there to promote junior scholars and support and advise PhD candidates and the faculty throughout a doctoral degree. It takes care of quality assurance and assumes the tasks associated with the doctoral degree.

The Graduate School comprises the Vice Dean of Studies responsible, the Executive Committee, the subject boards of the various groups of subjects, and PhD coordinators. The Vice Dean of Studies is supported by a coordination office. 

Reglement über die Organisation der Graduiertenschule der Philosophischen Fakultät der Universität Zürich (ROGS) (PDF, 90 KB)